My Poetry : I am America by John Michael Antonio / Feminine Collective.com


I am America – Feminine Collective

                                                                         Photo Credit: adrianvfloyd Flickr via Compfight cc

This is my poem ‘I am America” which was originally published on December 13,2016 on Feminine Collective.com 

I am America

 

I am America
and I am
bold and diverse
and all the colors of
the human rainbow

I am America
and I wear a hajib
a Star of David
a cross
and no cross
at all

I am America
and I am all genders
and sexual orientations
with a liberty to love
whoever I want

I am America
and I live in her cities
in her country vistas
in her farm houses
and in her suburbs

I am America
and I am rich and poor
and everything in between

I am America
and I was born
out of the
enduring dream
of a better life

I am America and
I can’t be walled in or out
because immigrants
have always been my life blood

I am America
and I have a gloriously free
and defiant voice
that can not and
will not be silenced

 

I am America
and I don’t need
to be made great again
because my words and promises
are for all of my people

I am America
and I am ready
to resist you
to defend myself

I am America
and I will survive

Leave a Reply

